A Glimpse into the Next Four Fascinating Book Reviews to be Previewed Here

Hemingway

Ernest Hemingway: Artifacts From a Life by Michael Katakis

Publisher: Scribner of Simon and Schuster

Biographies & Memoirs – Publication Date: 23 Oct 2018

Publisher’s Book Description:

“Beautifully designed, intimate and illuminating, this is the story of American icon Ernest Hemingway’s life through the documents, photographs, and miscellany he kept, compiled by the steward of the Hemingway estate and featuring contributions by his son and grandson.

Edited and with an introduction by the manager of the Hemingway estate, featuring a foreword by Hemingway’s son Patrick and an afterword by his grandson Seán, this rich and illuminating book tells the story of a major American icon through the objects he touched, the moments he saw, the thoughts he had every day. Featuring over four hundred dazzling images from every stage and facet of Hemingway’s life, many of them never previously published, this volume is a portrait unlike any other. From photos of Hemingway running with the bulls in Spain to candid letters he wrote to his wives and his publishers, it is a one-of-a-kind, stunning tribute to one of the most titanic figures in literature.”

About the Author: Michael Katakis

From the Publisher: “Michael Katakis is the author of a number of books, including Ernest Hemingway: Artifacts From a Life, Despatches (special limited edition), The Vietnam Veteran’s Memorial, A Thousand Shards of Glass: There Is Another America, Traveller: Observations From an American in Exile and Photographs and Words (with Kris L. Hardin). He is the editor of Sacred Trusts: Essays on Stewardship and Responsibility and Excavating Voices: Listening to Photographs of Native Americans. His work has been translated into multiple languages and his writing and photography have been collected by a wide range of institutions, including The National Portrait Gallery in Washington, DC; the Victoria and Albert Museum and the British Library in London; and Stanford University’s Special Collections Department. In 1999, Michael was elected Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. He lives in Paris and Carmel.”

Author’s Website:

Ernest Hemingway: Artifacts From a Life is available for pre-order:  

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Books-A-Million

IndieBound

 

thebestbadthings

The Best Bad Things: A Novel by Katrina Carrasco

Publisher: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux (MCD)

Historical Fiction – Publication Date: 06 Nov 2018

Publisher’s Book Description: 

“A vivid, sexy barn burner of a historical crime novel, The Best Bad Things introduces readers to the fiery Alma Rosales—detective, smuggler, spy. A propulsive, sensual tour de force, The Best Bad Things introduces Katrina Carrasco, a bold new voice in crime fiction.”

Author’s Website: Website

Twitter

Instagram

About the Author: Katrina Carrasco:

From the Publisher: “Katrina Carrasco holds an MFA in fiction from Portland State University, where she received the Tom and Phyllis Burnam Graduate Fiction Scholarship and the Tom Doulis Graduate Fiction Writing Award. Her work has appeared in Witness magazine, Post Road Magazine, Quaint Magazine, and other journals. The Best Bad Things is her first novel.”

The Best Bad Things: A Novel is available for pre-order:

Women and Children First

Elliott Bay Book

Powells

Amazon

IndieBound

 

theempathyeffect

The Empathy Effect: Seven Neuroscience-Based Keys for Transforming the Way We Live, Love, Work, and Connect Across Differences by Helen Riess, Liz Neporent

Publisher: Sounds True Publishing

Self-Help – Publication Date: 27 Nov 2018

Book Description:

“Empathy is undergoing a new evolution. In a global and interconnected culture, we can no longer afford to identify only with people who seem to be a part of our “tribe.” As Dr. Helen Riess of Harvard Medical School has learned, our capacity for empathy is not just an innate trait—it is also a skill that we can learn and expand. With The Empathy Effect, the leading researcher presents a groundbreaking teaching book to help us learn essential skills for transforming the way we relate to others in any situation.”

About the Author:

From Empathetics: “Helen Riess, M.D. is Chief Scientist for Empathetics. Dr. Riess is Associate Professor of Psychiatry, PT, at Harvard Medical School and Director of the Empathy and Relational Science Program at Massachusetts General Hospital. She is a core member of the Consortium for Research on Emotional Intelligence in Organizations (CREIO) and faculty of the Harvard Macy Institute. Dr. Riess is a psychiatrist who developed an empathy training approach based on research in the neurobiology and physiology of empathy that has been rigorously tested in pilot studies and a randomized, controlled trial at MGH. She completed her residency and Chief Residency at MGH and Harvard Medical School. Dr. Riess has devoted her career to teaching and research in the art and science of the patient-doctor relationship. Dr. Riess received her M.D. from Boston University School of Medicine and her B.A. From Wesleyan University.

Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School; Chairman, Chief Scientific Officer Empathetics, LLC; Director, Empathy and Relational Science Program, Massachusetts General Hospital

Helen Riess, M.D., is Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Part-Time, at Harvard Medical School and Director of the Empathy and Relational Science Program in the Department of Psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital. She is Co-Founder and Chief Scientist of Empathetics, Inc., a company that provides web-based empathy training and related relational skills solutions, Empathetics.com.”

Helen Reiss also cowrote Integrative Group Treatment for Bulimia Nervosa co-wrote with Mary Dockray-Miller.

Author’s Website:

Culture of Empathy

Twitter

Facebook

The Empathy Effect is available for preorder:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Books-A-Million

IndieBound

 

JosephineBaker

Josephine Baker’s Last Dance by Sherry Jones

Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books

Gallery Books is a Division of Simon & Schuster

Historical Fiction – Publication Date 04 Dec 2018

Description From the Publisher:

“From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.

Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker—actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world—in Josephine Baker’s Last Dance.”

About the Author: 

From the Publisher” “Author and journalist Sherry Jones is best known for her international bestseller The Jewel of Medina. She is also the author of The Sword of Medina, Four Sisters, All Queens, The Sharp Hook of Love, and the novella White Heart. She lives in Spokane, WA, where, like Josephine Baker, she enjoys dancing, singing, eating, advocating for equality, and drinking champagne.” 

Author’s Website:

Twitter

Facebook Group

Facebook Fan Page

Josephine Baker’s Last Dance is available for pre-order: 

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Books-A-Million

IndieBound

 

Comments and Recommendations are Welcome Here!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: